SCR Members

The term “Senior Common Room” harkens back to traditions of the Oxford and Cambridge residential and tutorial college system upon which Harvard’s system is based. The Senior Common Room consists of all non-undergraduates associated with Mather House, including the Masters, the Resident and Non-Resident Tutors, visiting scholars and artists, university professors, administrators, alumni, and Cambridge community members. Their association with the House offers Mather undergraduates a wide variety of older colleagues from diverse academic fields and professional specializations with whom they can consult and from whom they can learn.

Weekly Tuesday 1 pm informal lunches, monthly gatherings and dinners are opportunities to meet others in the House community, students, tutors, and the affiliated scholars and professionals who are members of the SCR. The SCR events include dinners with invited guests, High Tables, and special presentation which include scholarly presentations and music.

Undergraduates are cordially invited to attend SCR events including the informal SCR lunches. View Mather Events on the Mather Calendar or our agenda view.

SCR Members for 2016-17 sorted by first name.

 

First Name
Last Name
Field of InterestEmail Address
Andrew
Warren
John L. Loeb Associate Professor of the Humanities, Dept of Englishwarren@fas.harvard.edu
Ann
GaylinAssociate Dean of Undergraduate Education for Academic Supportagaylin@g.harvard.edu
Arthur
Barsky
Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical SchoolABARSKY@PARTNERS.ORG
Channing
Yu
Director of Global Oncology R&D at Daichi Sankyo, Conductor the Mercury Orchestra, Mather 1993channing1@gmail.com
Christie
McDonald
Faculty Dean of Mather, French & Comparative Literaturemathmas@fas.harvard.edu
Daniel
 Aguirre Oteiza
FAS Romance Languages & Litdaguirre@fas.harvard.edu
Deidre
Lynch
Professor of Englishdeidrelynch@fas.harvard.edu
ElsaDorfmanPortrait Photographer elsad@comcast.net
EvelynnHammondsHistory of Science and of African and African American Studiesevelynn_hammonds@harvard.edu
FrançoiseLionnetFAS Romance Languages & Lit/Frenchflionnet@fas.harvard.edu
Jack
Shelemay
Businessshelemay@msn.com
JeffreyWilliamsonLaird Bell Professor of Economics (emeritus), Co-Master Mather House 1986-1993jwilliam@fas.harvard.edu
Jen-yenChenVisiting Scholar in Musicjenyenc@post.harvard.edu
JohnWernerMIT Media Lab Johnwerner@post.harvard.edu
JonathanDarrowLaw / regulation of medicinejonathan.darrow@gmail.com
JonathanZittrainGeorge Bemis Professor of Law, Professor of Computer Science  zittrain@law.harvard.edu
KaterineO'DairDean of Students Harvard Collegekodair@fas.harvard.edu
Kay
Kaufman ShelemayG. Gordon Watts Professor of Music and of African and African American Studiesshelemay@fas.harvard.edu
Keith
Raffel
Mather 1972, Writerkraffel@yahoo.com
Leigh
Hafrey
Co-Master of Mather House 1993-2010, Business Ethics, MITlhafrey@mit.edu
Leslie
Morris
Curator of Modern Books & Manuscriptslamorris@fas.harvard.edu
LindsayNollHealth Care management
Luke
Leafgren
Resident Dean Mather House, Islamic Studiesma-abrd@fas.harvard.edu
MarthaLufkinLaw and writing 
MichaelFlyntMusician 
Michael
Rosengarten
Faculty Dean of Mather, MD. Cardiology, Web &Technologymathmas@fas.harvard.edu
Michael
Segal
Mather 1976 Neurology softwareMather House
Na'ama
Lion
Music Tutor and coordinator of the chamber music programlion@fas.harvard.edu.
NancyWilliamsonCo-Master Mather House 1986-1993nancy.williamson36@gmail.com
NannerlKeohanePolitical Science and a member of the Harvard Corporation nkeohane@princeton.edu
NicoleSuetterlinAssistant Professor of Germanic Languages and Literaturesnsuetterlin@fas.harvard.edu
PaavaliJumppanenPianist, Independent scholar, Visiting scholar at Harvard Music Dept. 2011-12. paavali@iki.fi
PatriciaHerlihyMather Master 1976-1986 Russian and Ukrainian Historypatricia_herlihy@brown.edu
PrestonWilliamsProfessor Emeritus, Christian Theological and Social Ethics, African-American Religionpwilliams@hds.harvard .edu
RichardMalatestaMather Grad 1974, Law and Public Educationrmalatesta@malden.mec.edu
SadieMcQuilkinMather alumna 2016; innovation & strategy consultingsadie.mcquilkin@gmail.com
Sandra
Naddaff
Co-Master of Mather House 1993-2010,Director of Freshman Seminars, Comparative Literature, Dean of the Harvard Summer School snaddaff@fas.harvard.edu
Sergio 
Delgado
 
Associate Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures
Sheila
Thimba

Dean for administration and finance, HC

thimba@fas.harvard.edu 

Slaven Jean-Philippe

Waelti
 
Visiting Scholar Harvard 

slaven.waelti@unibas.ch

SueBrownAssociate Director of Advising Programssuebrown@fas.harvard.edu
SusanLivelySecretary of the Faculty of Arts and Sciencessusan_lively@harvard.edu
SusanStebbins srstebbins@gmail.com
SusanSuleimanC. Douglas Dillon Professor of the Civilization of France and Professor of Comparative Literaturesuleiman@fas.harvard.edu
TedStebbinsCurator of American Arttedart1@gmail.com